top of page

2022-24 Susan L. Williams National Coral Reef Management Fellowship

The National Coral Reef Management Fellowship is a partnership between the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Nova Southeastern University (NSU), the U.S. Department of Interior (DOI), and the U.S. All Islands Coral Reef Committee (AIC). There are seven (7) U.S. states and territories participating in this program: American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Hawaii, Florida, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Coral Reef Management Fellows are placed in state and territorial natural resource management agencies (the host agencies) in each of these jurisdictions every other year, where they work on specific projects related to coral reef conservation. Although fellows are employed through NSU, they are essentially working for the host agencies and should consider their on-site fellowship supervisors to be their direct managers.

The fellowship program's mission is two-fold:

1. Provide coral reef management support in each participating jurisdiction by placing highly qualified individuals whose education and work experience meet each location's specific coral reef management needs.

2. Provide individual fellows with professional opportunities and training in coastal and coral reef resource management.

Prospective applicants should note that this is a management and policy-focused fellowship and that SCUBA diving will not be permitted.

Since Guam is still experiencing power and internet issues after Typhoon Mawar, if you are in Guam and unable to access the application portal, please contact

Applications for the 2024-26 National Coral Reef Management Fellowship are open. Prospective applicants must apply directly through Nova Southeastern University’s (NSU) online portal. The application period will be open now through 23:00 EDT on July 20, 2023.

For more information on applications and to apply, visit

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page